Leftovers are for Lovers: French lentils in a ginger-lemon broth with broccoli

cimg8376

After a looooong day at work yesterday, I stopped by Oasis to pick up some food for dinner. I wasn’t sure what I wanted to make yet, so I just bought some random ingredients that didn’t seem too expensive. I was kind of in the mood to cook something hearty and slow-cooking, as cooking is a great way to unwind after a shitty day. I sit in a chair and stare at a computer for 9 hours, so the last thing I want to do when I get home is sit more. Standing up and rummaging around the kitchen is a great alternative. Plus, it’s a legit excuse to drink wine while you hang out. This is what I got (straight from the receipt):

Dried cannellini beans: $1.79

Organic low-sodium chicken broth: $2.19

Mini ancient grain loaf Greenstar bread: $3.09

Organic ginger: $.89

Produce (yellow onion): $.82

Produce (broccoli): $1.76

Organic skim milk: $2.39

2 lemons (organic): $1.69

I hate how expensive food is, especially at Oasis, but it’s tough when you’re just looking for convenience. (This is particularly true when you don’t have a car.) Anyway, I took my groceries home and then tried to figure out what to make. This is what I came up with. I enjoyed it with a handful of whole wheat pita chips and a glass of red wine (leftover from our O.C. date, C.L.!). It was a great, filling meal and I enjoyed the rest as leftovers today (pictured above and below). As you can see, I ate my leftovers with a small coffee and a toasted everything bagel (I had half, it was a little stale).

French lentils stewed with broccoli, peas, and onion in a spicy ginger-lemon broth.

Saute onion, garlic, ginger in a nonstick pot (or dutch oven) in a little bit of olive oil. Throw in a cup of lentils (pick out the gross ones). Stir around. Add 8 cups of water. Add spices (I used red pepper flakes, chili powder, a bay leaf, black pepper, sea salt, cumin, and garam masala). Chop a lemon into quarters, squeeze the juice into the broth, then throw in the rinds and all (wash lemon first, duh).

Let broth come to a boil. Cook those lentils until al dente, about 25 minutes. Throw in 1/2 cup frozen peas and 3 cups broccoli, chopped into small bits. Put lid back on and bring to slow simmer, 15 more minutes. Turn off stove. Cut second lemon in half and squeeze juice into broth and stir around. Fish out those lemon quarters and throw ’em away.

Ladle into bowl and enjoy! This is delish with toasted bread, crackers, pretty much anything bread-y.

Let’s take a closer look at the next day’s leftovers (enjoyed during a short lunch break), shall we:

cimg83772

3 responses to “Leftovers are for Lovers: French lentils in a ginger-lemon broth with broccoli

  1. Well yum!! What a great lunch/dinner. I bet it would freeze well too.

  2. OMG !! Loook at those Lentils!! Awesome! What’s that green stuff though?

  3. oh m! it looks amazing! o.c./dinner date next week!

Leave a Reply

